Skip to content
April 25, 2013 / anthonykzullo

Why Write a Novel?

Writing a novel

Photo by Riff Raff

Whenever someone first starts to write a blog about novel writing or self-publishing, it’s important that they tell the world why they do it.  Everyone has different reasons they write.

For the Money and the Fame

Some people write because they think it’s going to make them a lot of money or make them famous, which is really a horrible reason if it’s your only reason.  Most people will never end up being the next J. K. Rowling, Amanda Hocking, or Suzanne Collins.  Although hoping that you will become a part of the writing elite is okay, writing just to make money is never a good thing.  People will be able to see passed your words on the page and feel your insincerity.  There’s a sense of emotion from an author that ties together a good book.  If you don’t have that emotion and passion to write, you’ll never create something worth reading.

For the Love of the Story

Other people have stories deep down inside of them that yearn to see the light of day.  These are the people you should look out for.  For these are the stories that touch you, that live and breathe inside of you, that twist and break your soul when you read them.  When a writer pours their heart into a story and gets attached to the characters and the world they created, you can read that love on every line and on every page.  It’s a beautiful thing.

For the Escape

When a person writes a work of fiction, they go somewhere.  They go to a place where no one has ever been and where they decide what goes and if the trees are green or gold.  They meet people that no one has ever met with quirks and attitudes of the author’s own creation.  To live and breathe in this world, knowing that you have control, is one of the greatest feelings of being an author.  You have magic in this world, the magic to do whatever you want.  Many authors are tortured souls, and writing is often what they use to convey their feelings, to express themselves, and to escape.

So why do I write then?  When I was younger, I used to write to escape.  I was a poor gay, tortured soul that rebelled against the religion that my family clung to, which denounced who I was inside.  So I wrote to free myself from my life because it was the only way I could.  When my father died when I was fourteen, I used my writing to cope with the pain of loss.  It was then that I finished my first manuscript, which took eight years of struggle and false starts.  Now, eight more years later, I one day hope that my writing can support me and my adventures across the world, but that’s a faraway dream that I might only be able to live through my stories.  Until then, I let the stories build inside of me.  Then I fall in love with my characters and have to write them.  I love writing and storytelling.  It’s a part of who I am, and that is why I write.

So why do you write?

 

Anthony Zullo is a novel writer who aims to self-publish his book in late 2013 or early 2014 The Guardian’s Charge:  Book I of the Bloodborn Series, which is a paranormal/dark urban fantasy about what happens when the six alien Gods of Niburu return to Earth to decide the fate of all Life.  To follow his pondering thoughts and to communicate with him, check out his twitter @anthonykzullo.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Christina / Apr 25 2013 5:31 pm

    In the end it must be about love. I love words. I love the way they come together to create my emotions and display them on paper. If it wasnt for love, I would have gave up a long time ago. 🙂

    • anthonykzullo / Apr 25 2013 5:37 pm

      Me, too. Love it or leave it. There’s not much more to say but that. Keep on writing 🙂

Leave a Reply

