Skip to content
May 3, 2013 / anthonykzullo

How to Market Your Novel to Me

When thinking about publishing my novel, I often times wonder about whether or not its going to be a success.  I wonder what are the best practices to make it successful. That’s when I think about when I buy a book and what I look for.  There’s a lot that goes into my process of book selection.  If you’re aiming to catch my attention, then here are a few tips that I recommend.

Have a Good Cover

First, I’ll browse some covers.  Yes, I know, you’re not supposed to judge a book by its cover, but I do anyway.  And I’m sure a lot of people do the same. A cover is extremely important, especially for an indie author.  It shows how much time, money, and effort you put into the book by selecting a good cover.  It also sets the mood.  If I see abdominal muscles, I’m going to think this book has sex in it.  If I see a couple together, I’m thinking that it’s a romance.  If I see a bloodied knife, then I’m going to assume that it’s about a murder.

Have a Good Title

Next, I’ll look at the title.  Sometimes, the title can be really different.  Sometimes, it can be wordy but funny.  It’s best when I hear a title of a book that you don’t hear that often.  Take for example Ksenia Anske’s Siren Suicides or Suzanne Collin’s Hunger Games.  Both books have unique titles.  Having a title that’s too simplistic or overused won’t really catch my attention unless it’s something I’m thinking about at the time.  I enjoy creative titles.

Your Back of the Book Blurb Better be Intriguing

After checking the front of the book, I’ll read the summary of the book on the back.  It has to really catch my attention if you want me to read your book.  Don’t just tell me it’s an unforgettable romance.  A lot of books say that.  Instead, shock me with what’s different about your book.  It’s an unforgettable romance between a man with one leg and a blind woman is a much more interesting topic and one I haven’t really experienced.  Make sure you have that hook on the back cover or else I may never open your book to take a peek.

Catch my Attention By the First Page

Finally, make sure the first page shines. Right before deciding to part with my hard earned money, I’ll make sure to take a glimpse of the writer’s first couple pages. If the  first couple paragraphs don’t grip me, I often don’t give the book a chance. Get to the good stuff right away. If there’s a murder scene, show me the corpse. If you’re writing fantasy, throw in some magic and mystery. I want to be drawn in right away and have a connection immediately.

So here are my tips on how to draw me in as a reader.  Of course, there are a lot of other things that I look at before buying a book, including reviews and price.  But these are the most important.  At least to me.  Let me know what draws you to buy novels in the comments.  Thanks for reading.

 

Anthony Zullo is a novel writer who aims to self-publish his book in late 2013 or early 2014 The Guardian’s Charge:  Book I of the Bloodborn Series, which is a paranormal/dark urban fantasy about what happens when the six alien Gods of Niburu return to Earth to decide the fate of all Life.  To follow his pondering thoughts and to communicate with him, check out his twitter @anthonykzullo.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. itsselfpublishingreview / May 28 2013 2:12 am

    Reblogged this on Publishing Reviews.

Leave a Reply

